Brief Interviews with the Chosen 7

An interview was completed with each of the seven new NERU students for the 2015 cycle. Read on to get their thoughts at the start of the program:

10520092_10204470650753801_6423910650685221660_nAdam Nicastro

What were your thoughts when first arriving in UNH?

Relief, it was good to know I had finally gotten here. It felt like there was so much build up and uncertainty leading to this point.

What is your opinion of NERU program so far?

It’s definitely an amazing opportunity, and one that I never expected, honestly. It’s great to know that we’re all here and it seems like everyone is getting along amazingly well. It’s going to be a ton of fun and a great experience to look back on one day.

What are you most looking forward to?

Out of all the things on the itinerary,  I think I’m most excited about the geology field trip to Norway.

Is there anything you regret not bringing?

Surge protector… and my cat Sam

If there is one thing you want to accomplish this summer, what would it to be?

I like to set reasonable expectations of myself, so just traveling and seeing new parts of the world is something I’d like to accomplish, but really, I’d like to just make the most of my time and hopefully come back from Sweden with presentable findings.

What is your favorite type of PopTart?

That is a tough question. It’s not technically a PopTart I guess, but theres an organic brand that makes really good ones that are cherry-pomegranate flavored. I think it’s called Nature’s Path? Something like that.

Three facts:

I’m a huge Bengals fan, I’ve played guitar since I was ten, and I’ve sold recordings of music that I’ve made to people from around the world.

Melissa Schwan11209679_10204470640553546_2123107130474693162_n

What were your thoughts when first arriving in UNH?

I was excited  to be part of the program, a little worried about what the hell I was going to do, Hope I will get along with all the people, Excited for my own research!

What is your opinion of NERU program so far?

There is a lot of collaboration which I love. Among the faculty, among their students, postdocs and stuff, which is great as us for undergrads which teaches us how to do it and shows us it is possible to do that in science.

What are you most looking forward to?

Partially Sweden, but more specific, looking forward to our projects and it coming together and being an awesome story to tell. Being an intellectually satisfying experience.

Is there anything you regret not bringing?

I packed light with clothing but so far I am good. School supplies, I needed it right away and thought I would have a few days.

I have never lived in a dorm. Comfy clothes and shoes to walk around in.

If there is one thing you want to accomplish this summer, what would it to be?

Two Parts- I want to collaborate with everyone in finishing a very interesting research project. I want a great project and collaborating so great bonds can be formed.

What color represents you best?

All Colors

Three Facts:

I like dance music and science showing true liberal arts colors, I want to live with wolves in the wild, I have 7 siblings (second oldest)

Christopher Horruitiner11407219_10204470643593622_8060493089116263951_n

What were your thoughts when first arriving in UNH?

We arrived in a bus right? I thought. Different ecology, different architecture, that was beautiful.

What is your opinion of NERU program so far?

It’s a great opportunity. They keep saying they are going to pay us but even if they don’t I don’t mind.

What are you most looking forward to?

Coming up with my own conclusions and research question.

Is there anything you regret not bringing?

Umbrella, Ethernet

If there is one thing you want to accomplish this summer, what would it to be?

Establish relationships

What is your favorite accent/dialect?

Boston

Three Facts:

My favorite anime cowboy bebop, Vegan, beat every final fantasy game

Jessica DelGreco 11403199_1121473334548973_4096106314107842440_n

(Jessica currently is attending UNH and therefore has a condensed question list)

What is your opinion of NERU program so far?

I think it’s a really good program for our areas of study. Great opportunity to formulate and carry out our own research. Nice that we are not restricted to just learning techniques for our own projects. –Collaboration is great-

What are you most looking forward to?

Being isolated and it being undisturbed and beautiful –in Sweden-

Is there anything you regret not bringing?

I am worried about brining enough warm clothes to Sweden

If there is one thing you want to accomplish this summer what do you want it to be?

Becoming more culturally diverse and getting to know Swedish culture

What is your favorite pie?

Apple pie

Three Facts:

Really wants to do research in Australia one day, I am 100% Italian and my entire family lives in one town, I have been dog sledding Canada

Clarice Perryman

What were your thoughts when first arriving in UNH?11027952_10204470643313615_2189489709994259782_n

Other than holy shit I want to nap? Architecture of the campus reminded me of my own campus. Natalie was very hospitable making sure me and Adam got all settled in and that was nice of her. I like all the trees too, and they remind of Earlham.

What is your opinion of NERU program so far?

Super incredible opportunity for everyone that is here. Going to be a good experience in preparing us for grad school. Good balance between independence coming up with own project and guidance in developing that project. Expectations have been made clear that they have high standards for us but I feel they all have faith we will meet and exceed them.

What are you most looking forward to?

Hopefully collaborating a lot of projects, and networking with community of sciences in Abisko. And learning about Swedish culture.

Is there anything you regret not bringing?

(I packed efficiently) Nothing so far.

If there is one thing you want to accomplish this summer, what would it to be?

Other than finishing my project; Overarching goal is to figure out where I see myself heading in a scientists and see what I do and don’t like about an institution and figure out grad school, become more confidence in my abilities. -Self Realization-

Are you a dog or cat person?

Cat person, it’s a shame I don’t have my real backpack with me. The cat pack is real

Three Facts:

I am Slytherin, I was paid to dance for Dayton opera, I have never seen Silence of The Lambs

Kellen McArthur1524891_1121472414549065_4228321825620212048_n

What were your thoughts when first arriving in UNH?

What a beautiful campus.

What is your opinion of NERU program so far?

Very fun, Exciting, Challenging

What are you most looking forward to?

Completing my first research project

Is there anything you regret not bringing?

Nothing yet

If there is one thing you want to accomplish this summer, what would it to be?

Complete the research and meet a lot of scientists

What was your favorite subject in school growing up?

History

Three Facts:

I live on an Indian reservation, I’ve never been out of the country, Have never used chopsticks

Erin Marek

What were your thoughts when first arriving in UN11403471_10204470645393667_6350847600931574049_nH?

I honestly did not believe I was in New Hampshire. My mind was just in denial

What is your opinion of NERU program so far?

It is really different than my REU last summer. I have so much freedom to develop and design my own project, but I feel there are high expectations from all of the faculty and staff. I can’t wait to see if I meet their expectations

What are you most looking forward to?

I cannot wait to meet everyone at the field station in Abisko! Talking about their research and where they are from is going to be a great experience, and could be super helpful for networking.

Is there anything you regret not bringing?

I forgot laundry detergent…

If there is one thing you want to accomplish this summer, what would it to be?

Nailing my project and getting amazing data. Even if it doesn’t come out how I expect, just having it is going to feel so satisfying.

What’s your favorite marsupial?

The obvious answer one is kangaroo, but I have to go with wombats.

Three Facts:

I am the seeker for my colleges Quidditch team, I hate when people scrape their teeth on silverware when eating, Steve Irwin was my original inspiration for wanting to go into the field of science

Leave a Reply

